Skip to main content

Human Services and Counseling: Databases (Journal Articles)

When to use journals and newspaper articles?

After you have a basic understanding of your topic of interest and have defined any key terms associated with it, it is time to learn more about individual aspects of it.  Some popular journal, magazine, and newspaper articles databases available through the library are linked to on this page.

Selecting Search Terms

Before you begin searching, make sure you have your search terms outlined.  For instance, if I am writing about Civil War in Kentucky, not only are Civil War and Kentucky my keywords but other key search terms such as the names of actual battles or major figures would also need to be considered.  You also have to think about your end goal.  What do you want your reader to take away from your paper?  Sometimes, we have to broaden or narrow our topic depending on our goals and the information available to us.

Popular versus Scholarly

Popular sources are written towards a general audience.

Scholarly sources are typically written by experts in a field of study.

Depending on your audience and purpose, you may use both popular and scholarly resources.  However, it is generally understood that scholarly sources hold more authority since they are usually written by experts in a field, cite sources themselves, and are often peer-reviewed before publication.

How to search in EBSCO?

How to Search in JSTOR?

How to Search in ProQuest?

Journals, Newspapers, and Magazines

EBSCOhost Databases

Go to the Library Home Page

Under Find Information, select Journal & Newspaper Articles

Locate EBSCOhost

Click on the first option, EBSCOhost Web

Screenshot of EBSCOhost Web option

1) You can search all databases by selecting all

Screenshot of Select All option

2) Specific databases by going to the Databases A – Z list

Databases A - Z option

Or 3) Search databases selected for Human Services and Counseling by clicking on Human Services and Counseling on the top of the page and then again once it takes you to the page location.

Databases by Subject

The following databases are included in the Human Services & Counseling cluster:

  • Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
  • PsycINFO
  • PsycARTICLES
  • Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print
  • Health Source - Consumer Edition
  • ERIC
  • eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
  • eBook Academic Collection (EBSCOhost)
  • Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
  • Academic Search Complete
  • Sociological Collection
  • CINAHL Complete
  • American Doctoral Dissertations

EBSCO - Scholary peer-reviewed journal articles

How to access Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print