Skip to main content

Criminal Justice

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

The InterLibrary Loan (ILL) department provides students, faculty and staff with materials not contained in the Katie Murrell Library's collection by borrowing from other libraries not only in Kentucky but the entire United States. Access to these materials is through the Online Computer Library Center (OCLC) and their online database, FirstSearch. Interlibrary loan is a free service and anyone can request a book. The average loan time for a book is 5 weeks. Our library also obtains copies of articles needed as well. If you have any questions or need help locating a book, stop by the Interlibrary Loan Office. Kim Hamlett is the ILL contact (270-384-8253).
Requests may be made by: 

Finding Journal & Newspaper Articles

EBSCO Host -- Access to citations full-text article databases, Newspaper Source, the MLA International Bibliography, PsychArticles and other databases. EBSCO Ebook Tutorial

JSTOR -- Full-text back files of major academic journals and new and recent academic books.  For information on how to use JSTOR, visit the JSTOR Student LibGuide

Open Access Journals -- Covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals.

Project MUSE -- Currently offers limited full-text access to open access articles from major university presses covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more.  Searches can be limited to only content available in full-text form by checking the box Only content I have full access to. 

ProQuest Databases -- Access Alt-Press Watch, which contains journals of the alternative and independent press; and collections of full-text journal articles in the careers and technical education.