When conducting research, reference sources are a great starting point. Typically reference sources like dictionaries, encyclopedias, almanacs etc. provide background information on a topic. They also typically help define and outline key terms and other information. They usually also include links for further reading.
Biography in Context -- Access to full-text biographical information with related full-text articles from hundreds of magazines and newspapers.
Britannica Academic Edition -- The online version of the Encyclopedia Britannica plus other features to improve your research and learning experience.
Digital Library of Appalachia -- Online access to archival and historical materials related to the culture of the southern and central Appalachian region.
The Encyclopedia of Life Sciences -- A full-text encyclopedia in the biological sciences.
Facts on File -- The "Issues and Controversies" database, which contains unbiased information on current topics.
First Research – Industry, economic, employment, and labor market information.
Gale Databases -- Access Biography in Context, the Gale Virtual Reference Library, GREENR, and the Literature Resource Center.
Gale Virtual Reference Library -- A database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
GREENR (Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources) -- Provides focus on the physical, social, and economic aspects of environmental issues.
Grolier Online Encyclopedias -- Search online encyclopedias including Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia and New Book of Knowledge for Children.
Learning Express -- An innovative, Web-based learning solution that provides patrons, from elementary students to adult learners, with instant access to the most comprehensive collection of test preparation tools, skill-building materials, and career resources available. Users must register before using the resources.
Life Quotes -- On this website you'll find more than 36,000 quotations from over 6,000 famous people, such as Benjamin Disraeli, Oscar Wilde, Marilyn Monroe, Winston Churchill, Ralph Waldo Emerson, Mahatma Gandhi, Mother Teresa, Mark Twain, William Shakespeare, Confucius, Woody Allen, Abraham Lincoln, Martin Luther King, Jr. and other great authors.
Medical Humanities Database -- includes the interdisciplinary fields of humanities (literature, philosophy, ethics, history and religion), social science (anthropology, cultural studies, psychology, sociology), and the arts (literature, theater, film, and visual arts) and their application to medical education and practice.
Oxford English Dictionary -- A searchable, online version of the OED, an authoritative and comprehensive dictionary of the English language.
Oxford Quick Reference -- Search more than 200 dictionaries, language references, subject reference works and the Oxford Companion Series.
Polling the Nations -- A database of survey and polling results gathered from the and more than 60 foreign countries.
Statista -- A statistics portal that integrates data on over 60,000 topics.
SYBWorld (Statesmen's Yearbook World) -- Country profiles with political, social, economic, and biographical information on world nations and their leaders.
World Data Analyst -- A database resource featuring a unique collection of in-depth information about the countries of the world and allows you to create interesting and information comparative charts and tables.
World Digital Library -- A collection of items from over 100 institutions including books, photographs, maps, recording, and other primary source material.