Reference works are sources that general information on topics (examples are encyclopedias and dictionaries). When beginning the research process, you will need understand your topic (generally) and define key terms in your research. The library subscribes to several reference databases and some of the links to them on this page is a great place to start.
Founded with a mission to enhance scholarship and teaching through the use of digital images and media, Artstor is a nonprofit organization committed to digital collection solutions for universities, museums, schools, and libraries worldwide. Our ever-increasing digital library includes more than 2 million high-quality images for education and research from a wide variety of contributors around the world. We have developed a complete set of tools to catalog, manage, and distribute digital media collections.
Artstor is also involved in many community initiatives to further our mission, such as the Digital Public Library of America and the Built Works Registry. Our primary goals are to assemble image collections from across many cultures and eras in support of educational and scholarly activities, and to work with the arts and educational communities to develop collective solutions to the challenges of working in a digital environment.
Biography In Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people. Organized into a user-friendly portal experience, it merges Gale's authoritative reference content, including Lives & Perspectives, with periodicals and multimedia. Users can also search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender, as well as by keyword and full text.
An integrated research experience, Gale Literary Sources brings together Gale's premier literary databases in a new digital environment that allows researchers, faculty and students to search across these resources to discover and analyze content in entirely new ways. No other publisher offers this unmatched combination of uniquely rich literary content, dependable metadata, and intuitive subject indexing - all enriched by features and design that breathes new life into the study of literature.
On our website you'll find more than 36,000 quotations from over 6,000 famous people, such as Benjamin Disraeli, Oscar Wilde, Marilyn Monroe, Winston Churchill, Ralph Waldo Emerson, Mahatma Gandhi, Mother Teresa, Mark Twain, William Shakespeare, Confucius, Woody Allen, Abraham Lincoln, Martin Luther King, Jr. and other great authors. Read the most brilliant and smartest things ever said.
Up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. Also contains Scribner Writer Series and Twayne's Authors Series.