Skip to main content

First-Year Experience (FYE): Who, What, When, Where, Why

Who are we?

Meet the Library Staff:

The Katie Murrell Library currently has three professional librarians and three full-time library assistants.  Our goal is to help you succeed and ensure that you have all the information resources you need for personal and academic research.  Click on the Meet your Librarians link below to find out more about who we are and the various areas we specialize in.

When to visit the library or talk with a librarian

Anytime you are undertaking a research project it is a good idea to visit the library either virtually by accessing the online resources and/or coming in-person to look through the print materials.

If you are undertaking a major research endeavor or have questions regarding what resources you need to complete an assignment, it is good idea to schedule a consultation with a librarian.  Consultations can be conducted both in-person and online.

Why are we here?

We are here to help you succeed academically.  It is actually part of our mission.

The mission of the Katie Murrell Library is to provide access to information resources, collections, technology and AV services, which have been selected and designed to support the educational and research needs of the Lindsey Wilson College community, and to provide the active instruction, assistance, and guidance needed to locate, evaluate, and use these resources and services. 

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

The InterLibrary Loan (ILL) department provides students, faculty and staff with materials not contained in the Katie Murrell Library's collection by borrowing from other libraries not only in Kentucky but the entire United States. Access to these materials is through the Online Computer Library Center (OCLC) and their online database, FirstSearch. Interlibrary loan is a free service and anyone can request a book. The average loan time for a book is 5 weeks. Our library also obtains copies of articles needed as well. If you have any questions or need help locating a book, stop by the Interlibrary Loan Office. Kim Hamlett is the ILL contact (270-384-8253).
Requests may be made by: 

Where are we located?

The physical building of the Katie Murrell Library is located on the A. P. White campus in Columbia, KY.  Although not all students can or will visit our physical location, library resources are also available via the library website.  A link to the library homepage is provided below; however, if you are off-campus, we recommend that you access the library homepage through the Library Resources link in myLWC located under the Academic Resources extension.  This is because some "paid for" library content is only available after authenticating through the portal.

Katie Murrell Library

Katie Murrell Library Exterior

What services does the library provide?

The mission of the Katie Murrell Library is to provide access to information resources, collections, technology and services, which have been selected and designed to support the educational, learning, and research needs of the Lindsey Wilson College community, and, to provide active instruction, assistance, and guidance needed to locate, evaluate, and use these resources and services. The Katie Murrell Library is a United States government depository library. It receives a selection of government publications in print and electronic formats. These include periodicals, statistical reports, consumer literature, agency directories, census data, and research findings from all branches of the government.

Databases

Choose from a variety of either Reference and Learning Resources or Journal and Newspaper Articles

Reference & Learning Resources

Access Science, Annals of American History, ARTstor, Biography in Context, Britannica Academic Edition, CREDO Reference, Digital Library of Appalachia, The Encyclopedia of Life Sciences, Facts on File, First Research, Gale Literary Sources, Gale Virtual Reference Library, GREENR (Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources), Hoover's Business Information, KYVL - Kentucky Virtual Library, Learning, Life Quotes, Literature Resource Center, Medical Humanities Database, Oxford Art Online, Oxford English Dictionary, Oxford Music, Polling the Nations, Scholastic GO!, Spanish Reference Center, Statista, SYBWorld (Statesmen's Yearbook World), World Data Analyst, and World Digital Library

Journal and Newspaper Articles

BioOne, Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers, Journal of Online Learning and Teaching, The Alpha Kappa Phi Review, JSTOR, MathSciNet, Open Access Journals, Project MUSE, ProQuest Databases, SCHOLE: A Journal of Leisure Studies & Recreation Education ‚Äč

Books/eBooks

You can search for books and eBooks using the Library Catalog.  You can search by keyword, author, title, subject, and journal.

Note: You can also click on advanced search if you need to limit your search.  For instance, you might want to limit your search to only find printed materials.

Finally, using Boolean Operators (description below) might help you yield better search results. 

Boolean Operators    Use "and" or "or" to specify multiple words in any field, any order. Use "and not" to exclude words.
Example : stocks and bonds
Example : (alaska or canada) and (adventure and not vacation)