It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
  • Summer Library Hours
    Monday - Friday, 7 AM - 4 PM | Saturday - Sunday, CLOSED
    All times are in Central Time
  • Communication Subject Guide: Top Databases

    Recommended Databases

    Find academic journals, scholarly articles, eBooks, and other resources.

    EBSCOhost

    Google Scholar

    Google Scholar is useful when you are struggling to find the specific research you need in the databases Lindsey Wilson subscribes to OR if you want to find a copy of a specific article that Lindsey Wilson doesn't have. Google Scholar can help expand your research! 

    If you find something you like in Google Scholar, check to see if you can access the entire document. Sometimes, you can access a document for free!  If you hit a pay wall, DO NOT PURCHASE THE DOCUMENT. Try to find it in one of our general databases first: EBSCOJSTOR, or ProQuest. If you can't access the document in one of those databases, copy the citation into an email to InterLibrary Loan (ILL)..

    Email the library with additional questions.

    Google Scholar Search

    Open Access Journals (a free resource!)

    Open Access Journals are journals freely available on the internet. It doesn't cost you anything to access articles and research published in them! These journals are usually peer-reviewed. Check out the Directory of Open Access Journals, one example of an open access journal databases. Authors who publish in open access journals typically have a special type of copyright license called the Creative Commons License. For more examples, check out the peer-reviewed sources page in the Research Tips LibGuide.

    Want to find an open access journal for a specific subject? Ask your Lindsey librarian for assistance!

    Here are some examples of open access journals that you can use for your research!

    Google Books

    Google Books is useful as another online library catalog and eBook resource. Sometimes you can read parts of a book OR the whole book, depending on the content available and its copyrights privileges. Use Google Books to help you find specific research that may be unavailable in our collections.

    If you find something you like in Google Books, check to see if you can access the entire document. Sometimes, you can access a document for free!  If you hit a pay wall, DO NOT PURCHASE THE DOCUMENT. Try to find it in one of these databases first: EBSCOJSTORProQuest, even the Library Catalog. If you can't access the document in one of those databases, copy the citation for it and email it to InterLibrary Loan (ILL).

    Please email the library with additional questions.

    Google Book Search