It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
  • Summer Library Hours
    Monday - Friday, 7 AM - 4 PM | Saturday - Sunday, CLOSED
    All times are in Central Time
  • Sustainability and Environmental Studies Subject Guide: Databases

    A subject guide for Lindsey Wilson sustainability and environmental studies students.

    Recommended Databases

    Other databases to check out

    Open Access Journals (a free resource!)

    Open access journals are journals freely available on the internet. It does not cost you anything to access articles and other research published in them! These journals are often peer-reviewed, so they provide a great place to perform academic research. Check out this selection of journals below. If you need an open access journal in a specific discipline, contact Ms. Orehek. 

    Google Scholar

    Google Scholar is useful when you are struggling to find the specific research you need in the databases Lindsey Wilson subscribes to OR if you want to find a copy of a specific article that Lindsey Wilson doesn't have. Google Scholar can help expand your research! 

    If you find something you like in Google Scholar, check to see if you can access the entire document. Sometimes, you can access a document for free!  If you hit a pay wall, DO NOT PURCHASE THE DOCUMENT. Try to find it in one of our general databases first: EBSCOJSTOR, or ProQuest. If you can't access the document in one of those databases, copy the citation into an email to InterLibrary Loan (ILL)..

    Email the library with additional questions.

    Google Scholar Search

    Reference Databases

    Topic Research Guides - Credo

    Periodical Databases

    Periodicals are a general term to describe materials published on a certain frequency. Magazines and newspapers fall in this category. Use these databases to find periodicals.

    Library Catalog, Books, and eBooks

    Check out the materials we have in the library already! They come in both physical books on the shelves and eBooks online. 

    You can also search for DVDs, music CDs, and other library materials.

    Google Books

    Google Books is useful as another online library catalog and eBook resource. Sometimes you can read parts of a book OR the whole book, depending on the content available and its copyrights privileges. Use Google Books to help you find specific research that may be unavailable in our collections.

    If you find something you like in Google Books, check to see if you can access the entire document. Sometimes, you can access a document for free!  If you hit a pay wall, DO NOT PURCHASE THE DOCUMENT. Try to find it in one of these databases first: EBSCOJSTORProQuest, even the Library Catalog. If you can't access the document in one of those databases, copy the citation for it and email it to InterLibrary Loan (ILL).

    Please email the library with additional questions.

    Google Book Search
  • #LifeIsGoodInTheLibrary