It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
  • Regardless of vaccination status, MASKS are required inside the library at all times.
  • Good luck preparing for finals! Remember, the library staff is available to help you finish the semester on a strong note!
  • English Composition & Writing Studies: Journals & Newspaper Databases

    Getting Started

    These databases and resources are great places for conducting research and finding information. We provide access to a wide variety of newspapers, magazines, and scholarly (peer-reviewed) journals.

    **Watch the video tutorials below before accessing the databases**

    Your *Best Bets* are under "Suggested EBSCO Journals to Explore." Use them to help narrow down your search to more specific and technical resources.

    **Double check your resources using the CRAAP test and comparing Scholarly Vs Popular publications.**

    Journals and Newspaper Databases

    SEARCH ALL EBSCO DATABASES

    SEARCH NEWSPAPERS AND MAGAZINES

     Use Google Scholar to help you

    1. Figure out what you want to research, and
    2. Find keywords for that research

    Then use those keywords in our databases to find peer-reviewed articles, newspaper articles, or other reputable sources, depending what you need for your project.

    Google Scholar Search

    Open Access Journals are special journals because they do not require a subscription to access because they are freely and publicly available to everyone.  *Most are scholarly peer-reviewed journals!*

    The Directory of Open Access Journals is a free, online database available to connect you with over 300 open access journals from around the world and in many subjects.

    Here are some examples of subject-specific open access journals that you can use for your research!

    Scholarly Vs Popular Sources

    Scholarly Journals

    "Academic" or "Research"

    Popular Newspaper & Magazines

    "General" or "Journalistic"

    Authors are named and usually affiliated with an institution. Authors are potentially anonymous.
    Authors are subject matter experts. Authors are journalists.
    Articles are peer-reviewed. Articles are not peer-reviewed.
    Citation lists are lengthy and extensive. Citation lists are little to non-existent.
    Advertisements are limited. Advertisements are everywhere.
    Articles are lengthy and very detailed. Articles are shorter and focus on general points.
    Issues are published on a less frequent basis (semi-annually, quarterly, monthly). Issues are published frequently (daily, weekly, monthly).
    Target audiences are professionals, academics, and students. Target audiences are the general public.
    Titles typically include words like bulletin, journal, or review. Titles do not typically include words like  bulletin, journal, or review.
    Except "The Wall Street Journal," which is not a scholarly publication.

     

  • #LifeIsGoodInTheLibrary