It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

  • *Guide about Library Resources: Reference

    What are reference sources?

    Reference materials are the best source for finding essential basic facts (a.k.a. background information) for any topic of research. Reference resources arrange information on people, events, times, dates, locations, statistics, and other useful facts. Reference sources are available in paper and as searchable electronic databases.

    Examples of reference resources include bibliographies, biographies, encyclopedias, dictionaries, indexes, statistics, atlases, and almanacs.

    Check out our Reference Sources Research Guide for more options!

    *Best Bets* for reference sources

    The library staff have found that these databases are excellent places to start!

    Search in the Library Catalog

    Use the library catalog to search for any reference source you may need. We have both physical copies in the library and eBooks available through our various databases.

    For example, simply search one of the following keywords as a Title to garner a general listing of that type of resources

    1. Atlas
    2. Dictionary
    3. Thesaurus
    4. Encyclopedia
    5. Bibliography

    These aren't "end all be all" methods. Get creative and ask your Lindsey Librarian for assistance!

    Encyclopedias

    Dictionaries, Thesauri, and Atlases

    Reference eBooks

    Check out these databases to find eBooks and eBook entries on a variety of topics.

    Statistics Sources