Consider EBSCOhost like a tree. Trees have collections of individual branches that comprise it. EBSCOhost contains a collection of individual databases that covered either all subjects (e.g. Academic Search Complete) or a selection of subjects (e.g. CINAHL is for nursing and health sciences). Using EBSCOhost, we can either search in [1] one specific database, [2] a selection of databases, or [3] the entire collection of databases.
Follow our tutorial below for how to access and search in EBSCOhost from both on- and off-campus.
An extensive database of databases containing a multitude of resources on many different subjects. Resources include journal articles, books, and reports.
Newspapers and magazines are great places to find current information, opinion pieces, special topic pieces, and much more. Depending on what you need, certain aspects of newspapers and magazines can be considered as primary sources because they can be considered first-hand accounts, depending on the piece's format and compilation.
Below are examples of where you can find newspapers and magazines electronically. You may also visit the library's popular culture section to find physical copies of current editions of a selection of newspapers and magazines.
FACT: Newspapers and magazines are collectively known as periodicals because they are published on a designated frequency (or periodically).
An extensive database of databases containing a multitude of resources on many different subjects. Resources include journal articles, books, and reports.
Provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 (U.S.) & international newspapers. Full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.
Start your academic research here! This database covers practically every subject.
Provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications, and incorporates coverage of more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the US.
Google Scholar is useful when you are struggling to find the specific research you need in the databases Lindsey Wilson subscribes to OR if you want to find a copy of a specific article that Lindsey Wilson doesn't have. Google Scholar can help expand your research!
If you find something you like in Google Scholar, check to see if you can access the entire document. Sometimes, you can access a document for free! If you hit a pay wall, DO NOT PURCHASE THE DOCUMENT. Try to find it in one of our general databases first: EBSCO, JSTOR, or ProQuest. If you can't access the document in one of those databases, copy the citation into an email to InterLibrary Loan (ILL)..
