JSTOR is a digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. The collections include top peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutes, and primary sources. JSTOR is part of ITHAKA, a not-for-profit organization that also includes Ithaka S+R and Portico.
JSTOR contains the full-text of more than 2,300 journals from 1,000 publishers, with publication dates ranging from 1665 to 2015 (for certain titles). Journals are available in more than 60 disciplines in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences and mathematics.
JSTOR contains more than 100,000 eBooks from academic publishers. The eBooks work just like journals, offering unlimited use and DRM-free chapter downloads in PDF format.
JSTOR includes more than two million primary sources across four collections:
- 19th Century British Pamphlets - This is a collection of more than 26,000 pamphlets published in the 19th century. They chronicle political and socioeconomic issues and debates of concern to Britain at the time, and the digitized files preserve images and contemporary annotations. For libraries that subscribe to 19th Century British Pamphlets, the content is available alongside the journals and ebooks.
- Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa - Struggles for Freedom is a collection of more than 20,000 objects that relate to liberation movements in six southern African countries. The objects include oral histories, speeches, nationalist publications, fully digitized books, and pamphlets.
- World Heritage Sites: Africa - World Heritage Sites is a collection of visual, contextual, and spatial documentation of African heritage sites and rock art sites. The more than 50,000 objects in the collection include photographs, 3D models, GIS datasets, site plans, excavation reports, and other scholarly material.
- Global Plants - Global Plants is the world’s largest database of digitized, high-resolution plant type specimens, and also includes reference works and primary sources such as correspondences, diaries, botanical illustrations, and photographs. Global Plants is available at http://plants.jstor.org.
Click the image below for direct access to this database.
