These are some encyclopedias we have available in the library.
Encyclopedias are individual books or sets of book containing information about many different topics OR many subtopics about a topic. These topics are typically arranged alphabetically.
In today's world, encyclopedias can also be found electronically as eBooks OR whole websites.
Check out the encyclopedias we have available through the Katie Murrell Library!
Britannica Academic is an online [1] encyclopedia, [2] dictionary, and [3] atlas providing articles, primary sources, multimedia, and other unique resources including New York Times articles and BBC News feeds.
Resources also available include the Merriam-Webster Dictionary, Biographies, and Maps and Atlases.
Use the search bar below to get started!
Access to Britannica databases may require an additional log-in. Please call the library at (270) 384-8102 to obtain the log-in as needed.
Access to Britannica databases may require an additional log-in. Please call the library at (270) 384-8102 to obtain the log-in as needed.
Britannica Moderna is the Spanish-language version of Britannica Academic. Check it out!
Click the image below to be redirected to Britannica Moderna.
Britannica Moderna es la versión en español de Britannica Academic. ¡Echale un vistazo!
Haga clic en la imagen de abajo para ser redirigido a Britannica Moderna.
Access to Britannica databases may require an additional log-in. Please call the library at (270) 384-8102 to obtain the log-in as needed.
*Great resource for Education majors*
Select Elementary, Middle, or High for built-in differentiation for thousands of curriculum-relevant articles, images, videos, audio clips, primary sources, maps, editor-recommended websites, and more for student research.
Click the image below to be redirected to Britannica School.
CREDO is an online encyclopedia providing full-text versions of over 3,500 published reference works from more than 100 publishers in a variety of major subject. There include general subjects and subject dictionaries as well as encyclopedias.
Click the image below to be redirected to CREDO.
Formerly known as Gale Virtual Reference Library, Gale eBooks is a searchable database of reference sources like encyclopedias and dictionaries for multidisciplinary research.
Click the image below to be redirected to Gale eBooks.
Check out Ranges 1A and 1B for our in-house reference collection! These books are available to read anytime while the library is open. Please Note: Books in the reference section cannot leave the library.
There are also encyclopedias scattered through the rest of the collection.
Use this pre-filter search in our library catalog to find printed materials with "encyclopedia" as a keyword. You will find books located in both the reference section and the general collection. Please Note: Any books not found in the reference section (or found in the general collection) can be checked out.
Use this pre-filtered search in our library catalog to find eBooks with "encyclopedia" as a keyword.
MasterFILE Reference eBook Collection offers a rich selection of eBook titles covering a broad range of general reference subject. Topics include biography, history, careers, cooking, literature, travel, genealogy, health, parenting, personal finance, politics, architecture, science, current events, social-emotional health, and sports.
Click the image below to be redirect to MasterFILE Reference eBook Collection.
Image from the Chambers County Library System (TX).
The Marvel Comics Encyclopedia: a complete guide to the characters of the Marvel Universe by 
The Kentucky Encyclopedia by 
Encyclopedia of Criminological Theory by 
Encyclopedia of Hair by 
The Encyclopedia of Games by 
Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol and Addictive Behavior by 
The Dream Encyclopedia by 