These are some dictionaries we have available in the library.
Dictionaries are books or other electronic resources containing words listed alphabetically along with their characteristics, which include definitions, pronunciations, synonyms, antonyms, and etymologies (history of its origins).
Source: Merriam-Webster. (n.d.). Merriam-Webster.com dictionary. Retrieved November 4, 2021, from https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/dictionary.
Britannica Academic is an online [1] encyclopedia, [2] dictionary, and [3] atlas providing articles, primary sources, multimedia, and other unique resources including New York Times articles and BBC News feeds.
Resources also available include the Merriam-Webster Dictionary, Biographies, and Maps and Atlases.
Use the search bar below to get started!
Access to Britannica databases may require an additional log-in. Please call the library at (270) 384-8102 to obtain the log-in as needed.
Check out Ranges 1A and 1B for our in-house reference collection! These books are available to read anytime while the library is open. Please Note: Books in the reference section cannot leave the library.
There are also dictionaries scattered through the rest of the collection.
Use this pre-filter search in our library catalog to find printed materials with "dictionary" or "dictionaries" as a keyword. You will find books located in both the reference section and the general collection. Please Note: Any books not found in the reference section (or found in the general collection) can be checked out.
Use this pre-filtered search in our library catalog to find eBooks with "dictionary" or "dictionaries" as a keyword.
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regraded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of more the 600,000 words - past and present - from across the English-speaking world.
Click on the image below to be redirected to the OED.
These are online dictionaries you may also consider using.
Oxford American Dictionary and Thesaurus, 2e by 
The Firefly Spanish/English Visual Dictionary by 
NTC's Compact Finnish and English Dictionary by 
Abingdon Dictionary of Living Religions by 
A Dictionary of Sociology by 