It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
  • Regardless of vaccination status, MASKS are required inside the library at all times.
  • Semester hours resume on Mon 1/10.
    To view a complete list of our hours, please visit this page.
  • Database Search Tips: Basic Searching

    Use this guide to learn about some techniques that will help make your searches more effective.

    What is basic searching?

    Basic searching is exactly that. We seek information on a topic of interest. It could be pet insurance for your dog or cat, a Thanksgiving recipe, a museum in Washington, D.C., or the latest Nintendo Switch video game.

    There is nothing complicated about basic searching. Go to your favorite search engine with whatever! Or, ask Siri or Google a question on your smartphone or other smart device.

    The same technique here applies to the library's databases and catalog, too!

    How do I perform a basic search in a library database?

    Follow this example for finding resources in EBSCOhost, a popular Lindsey Wilson Library database.


    Step 1A: Access the LibGuides

    EITHER search for "Lindsey Wilson LibGuides" in Google OR go to www.lindsey.edu/library and select LWC LibGuides [the link with a magnifying glass icon]. Select Go to all databases on the far right side of the browser.

    OR

    Step 1B: Access the databases

    EITHER search for "Lindsey Wilson databases" in Google OR go to www.lindsey.edu/library and select A-Z Databases from the Library Collections menu.

    Step 2: Log into EBSCOhost

    Select EBSCOhost from the database listing. You may see a blue login screen open in a new browser tab. EBSCOhost requires every LWC student, faculty, and staff to sign in with their myLWC email and password because this resource is only available to those affiliated with LWC. [Fact: Your tuition allows us to provide this resource to you.]

    Step 3: Access EBSCOhost

    After you log in, select EBSCOhost Web [the first option on this page].

    Step 4: Select search options

    Imagine EBSCOhost as an Amazon interface. We can search for anything and everything on it. On this page, checkmark the box to Select / deselect all of the databases.

    Step 5: Perform your search

    Enter your keywords, phrase, or question in the search bar and start exploring!


    The same steps apply to every Library Database and the Library Catalog!

    How do I perform a basic search in the library catalog?

    Watch this video to learn how! 


    Coming soon.

    VIDEO | how to access any database

    VIDEO | how to access EBSCO databases

  • #LifeIsGoodInTheLibrary