It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

  • *Guide for Online / Distance Education Students: Journals & Newspapers

    Use this guide to learn how you can use the Lindsey Wilson College library from off-campus.

    Connect From Off-Campus

    No matter where you are, as a Lindsey student, you have free access to many databases that will help you find scholarly articles, credible news articles, academic eBooks, and much more. Find all of our databases here. Wherever you are, log in to the databases using your myLWC email and password. 

    What are Newspapers and Magazines?

    Newspapers and magazines are great places to find current information, opinion pieces, special topic pieces, and much more. Depending on what you need, certain aspects of newspapers and magazines can be considered as primary sources because they can be considered first-hand accounts, depending on the piece's format and compilation.

    Below are examples of where you can find newspapers and magazines electronically. 

    FACT: Newspapers and magazines are collectively known as periodicals because they are published on a designated frequency (or periodically).

    Newspaper and Magazine Databases

    EBSCO Databases

    treeConsider EBSCOhost like a tree. Trees have collections of individual branches that comprise it. EBSCOhost contains a collection of individual databases that covered either all subjects (e.g. Academic Search Complete) or a selection of subjects (e.g. CINAHL is for nursing and health sciences). Using EBSCOhost, we can either search in [1] one specific database, [2] a selection of databases, or [3] the entire collection of databases.

    Follow our tutorial below for how to access and search in EBSCOhost from both on- and off-campus.

    All Databases

    Find academic journals, scholarly articles, eBooks, and more in these selections of databases.

    For a full listing of databases, click the link below:

    Google Scholar

    Google Scholar is useful when you are struggling to find the specific research you need in the databases Lindsey Wilson subscribes to OR if you want to find a copy of a specific article that Lindsey Wilson doesn't have. Google Scholar can help expand your research! 

    If you find something you like in Google Scholar, check to see if you can access the entire document. Sometimes, you can access a document for free!  If you hit a pay wall, DO NOT PURCHASE THE DOCUMENT. Try to find it in one of our general databases first: EBSCOJSTOR, or ProQuest. If you can't access the document in one of those databases, copy the citation into an email to InterLibrary Loan (ILL)..

    Email the library with additional questions.

    Google Scholar Search