Research Guides: *Online / Distance Education Students: Books & eBooks

Page Contents

Book options for distance learners

Can't come to campus and pick up books?

Have no fear! You are still able to check out books and other library materials! These are your options:

eBooks are readily available through the Library Catalog and many of our Databases. Use your Lindsey email and password to log in!
Physical books and other items can be mailed to your home! See below for more information or email Kim Hamlett [hamlettk@lindsey.edu] to receive shipping details.
Check out the local public or academic library in your area for options. You may prefer to request books there.
Use the WorldCat catalog to find items in libraries near you.

Check out the video tutorial below for how to find something in the library catalog!

Find eBooks in these databases

This is a small selection of which databases contain eBooks. For a complete list of Lindsey databases with eBooks, click this link.

EBSCOhost eBook Academic Collection This link opens in a new window Access a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subjects.
EBSCOhost eBook Collection This link opens in a new window Access full text versions of EBSCOhost electronic books.
EBSCOhost eBook K-8 Collection This link opens in a new window From picture books to graphic novels, fantasy to family fun, this collection contains thousands of fiction and nonfiction e-book titles including familiar children’s stories and informative texts.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Explore a wide array of scholarly content across many subjects.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window A general database containing topics across all subjects in a variety of resources like newspaper articles, datasets, and scholarly journals.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window A searchable database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
MAS Reference eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window Offers a rich selection of eBook covering a broad range of general reference subjects. Topics include biography, history, careers, language arts, literature, government, health, math, science, current events, and social-emotional health.
MasterFILE Reference eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window Offers a rich selection of eBook titles covering a broad range of general reference subjects
Middle Search Reference eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window Just like Middle Search Plus! Find eBooks and eReference resources here on anything from history and current events to science and sports.
Palgrave Press eBooks This link opens in a new window A collection of eBooks focusing on the Humanities, the Social Sciences, Business, and so much more.
Primary Search Reference eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window Just like Primary Search, this eBook Collection offers a rich selection of reference titles covering a broad range of general reference subjects for primary school students. Topics include social studies, history, language arts, geography, culture, math, and science.

Get books shipped to your home!

Any online Lindsey Wilson student registered for classes during a semester session have the ability to have any of our books, including Interlibrary Loan books, shipped to their homes free of charge. Follow these steps to request a library item:

Use the Library Catalog to find an item.
Email Kim Hamlett [hamlettk@lindsey.edu] to receive shipping information. Include as many details as possible OR include the permalink (Find it on the very bottom of the web browser. Then copy the link from the address bar above).
We'll be in contact about getting an item shipped to you!

If you find something not in the Lindsey library but in the WorldCat Catalog or elsewhere,

Complete the Interlibrary Loan request form.
Kim Hamlett will be in contact with you.

If you have any questions, please call the library at (270) 384-8102 or email library@lindsey.edu.