Take advantage of the variety of research resources available from your Lindsey Wilson College Library! Databases are great places to start researching because they can help you discover things that you may not have considered before when answering your research question(s).
To login to any database, simply use your myLWC information.
Watch these video tutorials to learn how to use the databases.
If you have more questions, contact one of the librarians!
Find academic journals, scholarly articles, eBooks, and more in these selections of databases.
For a full listing of databases, click the link below:
Google Scholar is useful when you are struggling to find the specific research you need in the databases Lindsey Wilson subscribes to OR if you want to find a copy of a specific article that Lindsey Wilson doesn't have. Google Scholar can help expand your research!
If you find something you like in Google Scholar, check to see if you can access the entire document. Sometimes, you can access a document for free! If you hit a pay wall, DO NOT PURCHASE THE DOCUMENT. Try to find it in one of our general databases first: EBSCO, JSTOR, or ProQuest. If you can't access the document in one of those databases, copy the citation into an email to InterLibrary Loan (ILL)..
Use the steps in this video to access databases from your personal devices.
For tips, visit the Database Search Tips Guide.
Newspapers and magazines are great places to find current information, opinion pieces, special topic pieces, and much more. Depending on what you need, certain aspects of newspapers and magazines can be considered as primary sources because they can be considered first-hand accounts, depending on the piece's format and compilation.
Below are examples of where you can find newspapers and magazines electronically. You may also visit the library's popular culture section to find physical copies of current editions of a selection of newspapers and magazines.
FACT: Newspapers and magazines are collectively known as periodicals because they are published on a designated frequency (or periodically).