Research Guides: Peer-Reviewed Sources: Peer-Reviewed Databases

EBSCO Databases

Consider EBSCOhost like a tree. Trees have collections of individual branches that comprise it. EBSCOhost contains a collection of individual databases that covered either all subjects (e.g. Academic Search Complete) or a selection of subjects (e.g. CINAHL is for nursing and health sciences). Using EBSCOhost, we can either search in [1] one specific database, [2] a selection of databases, or [3] the entire collection of databases.

Follow our tutorial below for how to access and search in EBSCOhost from both on- and off-campus.

EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
An extensive database of databases containing a multitude of resources on many different subjects. Resources include journal articles, books, and reports.
EBSCOhost Full-Text Finder This link opens in a new window
Search hundreds of thousands of unique titles within EBSCO databases and e-journal packages. Search using journal title, discipline, or keyword.

Where can I find peer-reviewed sources?

This is a small sampling of where you can find peer-reviewed resources.

A-Z Databases | Peer-Reviewed
This is a selection of databases where you can find peer-reviewed resources.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.

Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
All of the resources here are peer-reviewed and freely available! Check out topics in science, technology, medicine, the social sciences, and the arts and humanities.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Explore a wide array of scholarly content across many subjects.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
A general database containing topics across all subjects in a variety of resources like newspaper articles, datasets, and scholarly journals.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Start your academic research here! This database covers practically every subject.

TIP: EBSCOhost and ProQuest each have a special search filter for scholarly (peer-reviewed) articles. However, JSTOR contains mainly peer-reviewed sources, so there is no special search filter in this database.

Open Access Journals - a newer peer-reviewed source

Open access journals (OAJs) are journals that are freely available on the internet. You don't need a special membership or subscription to access the research available in them. OAJs are usually peer-reviewed, so they are also a great spot to find peer-reviewed sources.

The Directory of Open Access Journals is a free, online database available to connect you with over 300 open access journals from around the world and in many subjects.

Here are some examples of subject-specific open access journals that you can use for your research!

American and Business Research Institute
Addiction Science & Clinical Practice
From one of the largest open-access publishers, BioMed Central, this online journal provides a steady stream of relevant research into treating drug and behavioral addictions.
Heroin Addiction and Related Clinical Problems
If you work with people suffering from heroin or prescription drug addictions, then this peer-reviewed journal is essential reading. It covers the latest research and opinions on opiate addiction from around the word.
Current Addiction Reports
Reviewing the latest scientific research on both drug and behavioral addictions, this journal puts its current issue free online to help addiction professionals keep up-to-date.
Open Journals in Education
A collection of 9 open access journals in the education-discipline. (Note: Not all are peer-reviewed).
Education Sciences
PLoS Biology

Need one in a subject not listed here? Email the library for assistance!