Primary sources are basically eyewitness accounts on things that happened in history. Government Documents (Gov Docs) are official copies of everything published by any federal institution. You are allowed to use these types of resources for your research because they can enrich it and bring different perspectives. Check out these resources and more in the boxes below.
Topics on this page:
There are three collections in the library where you can find primary sources:
Archives
Learn about history of LWC, the city of Columbia, the commonwealth of Kentucky, and more! Ask one of the library staff members to access this collection. It has restricted access in order to preserve the collection. Some of the items are more than 150 years old.
Special Collections
A collection of non-circulating books on Kentucky and the Appalachian region and books by Kentucky authors. Stored in the Thomas D. Clark Reading Room.
For more information on either collection, click this link.
Gov Docs
See the box below for more information.
These are examples of library databases that contain primary sources.
These are examples of other places where you can find primary sources. Get creative! Use any museum with an online collection.
Katie Murrell Library participates in the Federal Deposit Library Program (FDLP) and is a congressionally designated depository for U.S. Government documents, which provides the public with direct access to government information in practically every federal government entity. To access the FDLP, click on the logo image below.
For assistance with Gov Docs in the library, contact Amelia Thomas at thomasa@lindsey.edu or click this link for the Gov Docs Research Guide, which has more information on this department.
Search for Gov Docs online:
