PREVIEW Audio / Visual Sources [don't use] - *Template - New Guides - Research Guides at Lindsey Wilson College

Library Catalog

Search the library catalog for physical copies of DVDs and music CDs, as well as streaming video and audio files available through our various databases.

Library Catalog
Click this link to search for specific topics in DVD or CD format, in addition to books and eBooks.

Streaming Videos and Music in the databases

These are some databases where you can access both streaming videos and music from.

Counseling and Therapy in Video (Alexander Street by ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Watch videos of actual therapy sessions, training videos, and reenactments conducted by renowned counseling professionals.
ArtStor (JSTOR) This link opens in a new window
ArtStor has a collection of audiovisual resources, depending on your topic. Filter your search results by the Film, Audio, Video, and Digital Art classification.
Films on Demand (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
Watch full-length videos on [1] counseling and guidance and [2] health and medicine.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is connected to ArtStor, so you can find audiovisual sources here, depending on your topic.
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
A large online classical music library. Stream millions of songs! Search by artist, composer, genre, category, or label. Ability to use on your Apple or Android smart devices.
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Contains multiple music reference resources in one location including the Oxford Companion to Music and the Oxford Dictionary of Music 2nd edition.
Digital Theatre+ This link opens in a new window
Access the world's finest theatre productions! Includes full-length plays and thousands of time-saving lesson resources designed for English and Theatre Students to excel in their learning! (Login with your Lindsey ID and password).

Other Internet Sources

These are some examples of other locations on the internet to find audio and visual sources.

Culture Unplugged
Free documentary streaming website to enlighten aspiring global leaders.
TED Talks
Browse more than 3,800 talks to stir your curiosity on a variety of topics.
Digital Public Library of America
The DPLA provides access to America’s libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions. Resources include photographs, books, maps, news footage, oral histories, personal letters, museum objects, artwork, and government documents
Library of Congress Digital Collections
The Library of Congress is the largest library in the world, with millions of books, recordings, photographs, newspapers, maps and manuscripts in its collections. The Library is the main research arm of the U.S. Congress and the home of the U.S. Copyright Office. The Library preserves and provides access to a rich, diverse and enduring source of knowledge to inform, inspire and engage you in your intellectual and creative endeavors. Whether you are new to the Library of Congress or an experienced researcher, we have a world-class staff ready to assist you online and in person.
more...less...
https://www.loc.gov/about/
National Archives Digital Photography Collection
NARA is the nation's record keeper of the United States Federal government. Records date as far back as 1775
United Nations Audiovisual Library
UN A/V Library provides access to audiovisual archives spanning its 70 history of the Organization.
PBS Video
Find videos on current events in many disciplines.
WayBack Machine Internet Archive
Internet Archive is an electronic library providing access to eBooks, Web Pages, Videos, Audio Recordings, and Images, and Software Programs.
Crash Course
Crash Course is a Youtube channel dedicated to helping people learn more across the globe. They have countless series covering a variety of subjects like College Readiness, Engineering, Literature, History, and more.

Historical A/V

These are examples of some places you can find historical audio and visual sources.

Kentucky Historical Society Digital Collections
The Digital Collections is a searchable database of digital images and files from the Kentucky Historical Society's collections.
Digital History
Library of Congress Audio Recordings
Library of Congress Music and Performing Arts
Poetry Audio Recordings

Subject-specific topics

Sustainability & Environmental Studies

TED Talks on Sustainability
ATTRA Online Media
View current videos and podcasts on sustainable practices.

Nursing | Human services & Counseling

Films on Demand (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
Watch full-length videos on [1] counseling and guidance and [2] health and medicine.
Counseling and Therapy in Video (Alexander Street by ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Watch videos of actual therapy sessions, training videos, and reenactments conducted by renowned counseling professionals.

*Template - New Guides: Audio / Visual Sources [don't use]

Getting Started

Library Catalog

Streaming Videos and Music in the databases

Other Internet Sources

Historical A/V

Subject-specific topics