No matter where you are, as a Lindsey student, you have free access to many databases that will help you find scholarly articles, credible news articles, academic eBooks, and much more. Find all of our databases here. Wherever you are, log in to the databases using your myLWC email and password.
All of the databases and other resources are great places for conducting research in academic journals and scholarly articles. The library provides access to a variety scholarly (peer-reviewed) journals through databases like the ones listed below. Take a look at all the possibilities to find academic journals and scholarly articles.
*Double check your resources by evaluating your online sources and comparing Scholarly Vs Popular sources.*
Consider EBSCOhost like a tree. Trees have collections of individual branches that comprise it. EBSCOhost contains a collection of individual databases that covered either all subjects (e.g. Academic Search Complete) or a selection of subjects (e.g. CINAHL is for nursing and health sciences). Using EBSCOhost, we can either search in [1] one specific database, [2] a selection of databases, or [3] the entire collection of databases.
Follow our tutorial below for how to access and search in EBSCOhost from both on- and off-campus.
Newspapers and magazines are great places to find current information, opinion pieces, special topic pieces, and much more. Depending on what you need, certain aspects of newspapers and magazines can be considered as primary sources because they can be considered first-hand accounts, depending on the piece's format and compilation.
Below are examples of where you can find newspapers and magazines electronically. You may also visit the library's popular culture section to find physical copies of current editions of a selection of newspapers and magazines.
FACT: Newspapers and magazines are collectively known as periodicals because they are published on a designated frequency (or periodically).
Peer-reviewed resources are original research projects published by scientists and researchers that go through a rigorous review process by their peers and editors to make sure the research makes sense. Learn more about peer-reviewed resources in our Research Tips Research Guide.
Examples of places to find peer-reviewed resources:
|
"Academic" or "Research" |
Popular Newspaper & Magazines "General" or "Journalistic" |
| Authors are named and usually affiliated with an institution. | Authors are potentially anonymous. |
| Authors are subject matter experts. | Authors are journalists. |
| Articles are peer-reviewed. | Articles are not peer-reviewed. |
| Citation lists are lengthy and extensive. | Citation lists are little to non-existent. |
| Advertisements are limited. | Advertisements are everywhere. |
| Articles are lengthy and very detailed. | Articles are shorter and focus on general points. |
| Issues are published on a less frequent basis (semi-annually, quarterly, monthly). | Issues are published frequently (daily, weekly, monthly). |
| Target audiences are professionals, academics, and students. | Target audiences are the general public. |
| Titles typically include words like bulletin, journal, or review. | Titles do not typically include words like bulletin, journal, or review. Except "The Wall Street Journal," which is not a scholarly publication. |
Open Access Journals are journals freely available on the internet. It doesn't cost you anything to access articles and research published in them! These journals are usually peer-reviewed. Check out the Directory of Open Access Journals, one example of an open access journal databases. For more examples, check out the Peer-Reviewed Sources page in the Research Tips Guide.
Want to find an open access journal for a specific subject? Ask your Lindsey librarian for assistance by visiting in person or sending an email to library@lindsey.edu.
Google Scholar is useful when you are struggling to find the specific research you need in the databases Lindsey Wilson subscribes to OR if you want to find a copy of a specific article that Lindsey Wilson doesn't have. Google Scholar can help expand your research!
If you find something you like in Google Scholar, check to see if you can access the entire document. Sometimes, you can access a document for free! If you hit a pay wall, DO NOT PURCHASE THE DOCUMENT. Try to find it in one of our general databases first: EBSCO, JSTOR, or ProQuest. If you can't access the document in one of those databases, copy the citation into an email to InterLibrary Loan (ILL)..
Using folders on EBSCOhost is a great way to keep your content saved without having to worry about space or external drives. Follow this tutorial in order to get started.
Workspaces in JSTOR work essentially the same way. These are great options for protecting content from computer crashes, lost flash drives, etc.
